Same-sex marriage is legally recognized in some jurisdictions within the United States and by the federal government. To-date nineteen States have legalized same-sex marriage in the U.S.  As a result of the Supreme Court’s June 2013 decision to strike down a key part of the Defense of Marriage Act, same-sex couples married in states that allow it are now entitled to federal benefits afforded to heterosexual couples.

This infographic from The Divorce Company takes a closer look at same-sex marriage in the U.S.

[Click image for full size version]

Same-Sex Marriage in the U.S.

Irma Wallace

Irma Wallace

Co-founder and Vice President of SearchRank, responsible for many of the day to day operations of the company. She is also founder of The Arizona Builders’ Zone, a construction / home improvement portal.

Share On Social Media